header
Charlatan
  • SimonSimon May 2012
    From www.dictionary.com:

noun a person who pretends or claims to have more knowledge or skill than he or she possesses; quack.

So in having various science/faith discussions I keep on coming across people who use some sort of argument from authority to justify their strange views. "I have a PhD in xxx therefore if I say pigs fly then they fly!". Perhaps the people I have in mind most are the Intelligent Design lot who spout the utmost nonsense under an attempted veneer of academic respectability. But if I want to call these people charlatans, how can I justify it? I've had a crack at some criteria of what a charlatan is not:

To be taken seriously you need:

1) An academic qualification from a respectable secular university.
    2) A position of authority within secular society.
    3) A respect of, and knowledge for, the literature.
    4) No attempt to talk authoritatively about subjects you have no training in.
    5) Willingness to engage robustly and appropriately without an "everyones out to get me" attitude.

I think YECs fall down on almost all of these (although one or two meet criteria 1 &2). IDers are normally OK on 1 & 2, occasionally manage 3 & 4, but never manage 5. Whilst new atheists are probably strong on 1 & 2, ropey on 3 & 5, but never manage 4.

Me, of course, I'm perfect!
  • I think if you want to call someone a charlatan, you really ought first to have a PhD in quackery ;)

Just a bit of honesty and humility should be enough. "I have a PhD in xxx, so I have no expertise in the flying abilities of pigs, but from what I've read, and from talking to a couple of friends who are experts in pigs, I think it's fair to say that pigs can't fly." I think if someone made a claim about something in that kind of way, I'd be likely to believe them.