header
  • SimonSimon November 2011
    Hi there,

Contrary to popular opinion I am not a cheeky two-year-old with an eye patch, although that picture does exhibit just under 50% of my genes (depending on how you count such things).

I am a scientist with a PhD in Biochemistry and a research interest in the use of protein X-ray crystallography for rational drug design. I also have a pathological interest in philosophy and whilst working as a full-time scientist have completed a BA with the Open University and am currently studying for a MA in research ethics.

I have been a Christian most of my life although have swung from the highly pentecostal/charismatic wing to a left-of-centre position, although do loosely still associate with the label 'evangelical'.

I sit on the CiS committee with a responsibility for all things web-based, however am keen to point out that the views I express on this forum (unless I state otherwise) are entirely my own.

Simon
  • AnthonySmithAnthonySmith November 2011
    Is there a plugin for doing polls on this discussion forum? If so, could we gauge popular opinion on the following:

1. Is Simon cheeky?
    2. Is Simon a two-year-old? [Answers should be justified with reference to whether "Simon" is an emergent property of a particular arrangement of atoms and molecules, and by explaining in what sense the "Simon" of two - or twenty - years ago is the same as the "Simon" of today.]
    3. Is Simon wearing an eye patch?

;)
  • SimonSimon November 2011
    Good to see I am not the only person with a "pathological" interest in philosophy!

As part of continuing the introductions thing here is my background regarding the creation topic (copied from an earlier thread):